Out of the Mouths of Babes….

Just in case I should ever get above my station…..

 

My daughter asked me once, “what are you mummy?”

I stopped sweeping autumn leaves and sat on the garden bench with her,

a still warm October, the borders glowing, the stone under our feet not cold.

“I’m a poet who gardens.” I said

“and a gardener who makes frocks and

a seamstress who writes poetry.

What do you think I am?” I asked her, curling a stray strand of hair around her ear.

“You’re the cushion plumper,” she replied.

4 Comments

Filed under oddbods, poetry

4 responses to “Out of the Mouths of Babes….

  1. And you do plump a fine cushion my Lovely!

  2. Jacqui Lang

    Could you give my husband a lesson in cushion plumping please? He doesn’t seem to see the necessity

  3. Pure magic! And so good at cushion plumping too…x

Leave a Reply

